Seeing The Amazing In The Ordinary

IMG_7406 Dorothy went all the way to Oz only to discover one simple truth:

Happiness is not somewhere over the rainbow.

It’s right in your own backyard.

Once Dorothy learned this truth, she realized there was no place like home. She tapped into the power that was always within her.

With the click of her heels, she made it happen. She found true happiness by seeing the amazing in her ordinary life—In her broken family. In her flawed friends.

What if you and I choose to see the amazing in our ordinary lives?

Our families. Our friends. Our children. You know, the kids who remind us of Tink, Tigger, Peter, or Pooh. Whether they zip, bounce, or climb, they’re always seeking adventure, acceptance, and … amazing. Children can teach us tons about the true meaning of amazing—Like, how amazing Rolly Pollie bugs are, and how these friendly insects are similar to lobsters and crabs. Yep. As a mother of four sons, I can testify about that truth.

Still, I hope and pray I’ve taught my children how to love like their Father in heaven loves us.

Unconditionally.

What if we teach them to be kind by being kind?

What if we show them the meaning of selflessness by being selfless?

And what if we show them how to have faith by walking in faith when the tornados come? Or, how to be faithful by being faithful?

What if we stop worrying about what people think about us (or our kids), and only care about what God thinks? That would be a good lesson for them too.

True Happiness?

It’s not a vacation in the mountains or a faraway beach. Though sometimes I insist I’m happier in the mountains or at the beach.

It’s not winning the lottery or living in a big house.

I believe true happiness comes to those who learn to savor or let go of the memory of yesterday. Enjoy the gift of today and all its small pleasures.

Today your amazing might look like a minivan minus the hundreds of pieces of crushed cheerios stuck in all the crevasses of your child’s car seat.

What if we live like we can see the amazing in the ordinary?

Like Jesus did.

I’m happy Dorothy finally did too. How about you? Can you see the amazing in your ordinary?

 I’d love to hear your thoughts. Please click on the link to my blog http://www.joannclaypoole.wordpress.com to read more of my posts, follow, and subscribe via email for more of my quirky stories.

Visit my website http://www.joannclaypoole.com to learn more about my book, The Gardener’s Helpers, book 1 in my DoveStories children’s chapter book series (ages 5-9, Morgan James Publishing)

4 responses to “Seeing The Amazing In The Ordinary

  1. Pingback: How to Find Peace Where the Sparrows Live - Inspire A Fire·

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.